The Annual all Ireland final of the Farm Relief Services Memorial Scholarship took place recently at the Teagasc Colleges Challenge Day in Gurteen Agricultural College, Co.Tipperary.

Skye Murphy from Dromard Proper, Co. Sligo was the over all winner of the scholarship. Skye was representing Pallaskenry Agriclutural College, Limerick, and in the final she gave her presentation on “The positive representation of bees as an enterprise to bring more people into the industry”, a passion which Skye herself pursues.

She gave her presentation to a judging panel made up of Padraig Madden (FRS Network), James Healy (National President of Macra) and Tony Pettit (Head of Education with Teagasc).

Pictured left to right: Tony Pettit (Head of Education with Teagasc), Skye Murphy (winner), Padraig Madden (FRS network) and James Healy (National President of Macra)

The scholarship itself is run in conjunction with Macra na Feirme and a winner is selected to represent each Teagasc college as a National Finalist. This year marked the 10th year in it’s running. The scholarship rewards students who show outstanding leadership ability. After college the winner will go on to take up a paid placement with FRS to learn about the running of the business.

Peter Byrne, FRS CEO, comments: “Leadership and communications are two extremely important lifelong skills that need to be encouraged at all levels within our education system. We were delighted to be involved again this year with Macra and Teagasc. I believe the whole experience and the level of preparation each participant puts into the competition will stand to them for the rest of their lives and gives them confidence to take on further similar challenges in the future.”

The FRS Memorial Scholarship is in memory of deceased management, staff and board members of FRS Nationally.

Pin It on Pinterest